STARTS Prize 2016

STARTS – Grand prize – On behalf of the European Commission, Ars Electronica hereby issues an open call for entries to a competition that will determine the first recipients of STARTS, prestigious and—with two €20,000 —highly endowed awards. Expressly encouraged are innovative projects at the interface of science, technology and art.

Submission deadline: March 4th, 2016!

Innovation in and for Europe

Science, technology and arts (STARTS for short) limn a nexus at which insightful observers have identified extraordinarily high potential for innovation. And innovation is precisely what’s called for if we’re to master the social, ecological and economic challenges that Europe will be facing in the near future. In this STARTS Prize initiative, the European Commission’s focus is on projects and people that can make meaningful contributions to this effort.


Art as Catalyst

Here, art is assigned the role of catalyst that propagates scientific and technological knowledge and skills among the general public and triggers innovative processes. Accordingly, STARTS is emphasizing, on one hand, artistic works that influence or change the way we look at art, and, on the other hand, very promising forms of collaboration between the private sector and the world of art and culture. A prizewinning project will be singled out for recognition in both categories and each will be supported with a €20,000 .

Entries can now be submitted online.

The deadline is March 4th, 2016.

There are no entry fees.
The prizewinners selected by an international jury will be announced on April 11th, 2016.
In mid of May 2016 the prizewinners and their works will be presented to the public at a press conference.
They will be publically honored at the Prix Ars Electronica Gala on September 9th, 2016, in Linz.

Web: STARTS Prize 2016

Latest articles

About the Author

Comments (0)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

Comments are closed.